Everlasting Blessings of Mata Dadanbai & Dr. Premchand Manghirmalani

Padma Awards (Sindhi)

advertise here

Advertise Here

Padma Awards and Sindhi

padma_awardsSince the dawn of civilization, even in Vedic era Indian have the tradition of felicitating society members though with time method kept on changing. In the ancient time knowledgeable persons were honored with words like Rishi and Maharshi, later this honor started to be representative of qualities such as Danveer Karna [Danveer, one who is donating bravely without any hesitation] Marayada Purshotam Shriram, Maryada means the standard set of social conduct and Purshotam means Best among the human being.

After the independence even being a democratic regime India kept the felicitating tradition in continuation and in 1954 a system developed for the purpose of honoring civilians. Though the highest civil award of the country is named as Bharat Ratna whch is different from other three civilian awards namely Padma Shri, Padma Bhushan and Padma Vibhushan but for our convince we are including Bharat Ratna here.

We are restricting ours self with Sindhi community only since the start in 1954 till date 2016 no member of Sindhi community is listed among the 41 recipients of Bharat Ratna similarly among the 294 Padam Vibhushan Awardees only one Shri L. K. Advani [2015] is Sindhi. In the history of a bit more than six decades till date only few Sindhi people are felicitated with Padma Bhusan and Padma Shri. List of the all Padma Award winner Sindhis [can be updated] is included here .

Though Bharat Ratna is never baged by any Sindhi but the prestigious moment came for Sindhi community when Billiards and Snooker World Champion Young Pankaj Advani was honored with country’s highest sports award Rajeev Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. This award is considered as equivalent to Bharat Ratna.

Padma Awards are announced every year on 26 January and in a special function at Rashtrapati Bhavan, President of India give away awards.   

The list is in order of Padma Vibhushan , Padma Bhushan and Padma Shri

[To read more about any among these Sindhi Personalities just click on name ]

Padma Vibhushan

Padma Bhushan

1965:: Santu Javhermal Shahaney
1969 :: Krishna Ramchand Kriplani
1972 :: Dr. Lakhumal Hiranand Hiranandani
1973 :: N R Malkani 
2012 :: Dr Suresh Advani
2017 ::  Pankaj Advani

Padma Shri

1957 :: Atmaram Ramchand Chellani
1962 :: Santu Javhermal Shahaney
1973 :: Dr Ramchand Kishindas Menda
1981 :: Prof Ram Prataprai Panjwani
1983 :: Hundraj Dukhayal
1983 :: Dada Shewak Bhojraj
2000 :: Dr. Gurumukh Sajanmal Sainani
2002 :: Dr. Suresh H Advani
2002 :: Govind Nihalani
2003 :: Dr. Motilal Jotwani
2009 :: Pankaj Advani
2010 :: Jawahar R Gangaramani
2011 :: Dr. Indira Hinduja
2013 :: Ramesh G Sippy
2015 :: Dr Alka Kriplani